Witchy Home Cleaning, Clearing, & Cleansing Rituals

Rebecca M. Farrar, M.A.
5 min readMay 23, 2023

As the Moon and Venus kiss in Cancer and build to an opposition with Pluto, it’s an ideal time to put some extra intention into our space. It’s not enough to just make it pretty, sorry Venus, but to cleanse, clear, and clean.

Historically witches have been masters of the home domain and have long known about the relationship between cleanliness and health. Purifying the home of germs and energetic plagues can be an important practice in witchcraft. They used brooms for sweeping energetically and physically things away and had cats — killers of plague-causing rats. My cleaning routines have become more like rituals over the past few years, as I’ve noticed I get stuck emotionally when my home environment isn’t clean.

For me, my living is an outer expression of my psyche and soul, and when I want to make an internal change I first have to start with my space. As change occurs on a mental, spiritual, and physical level and I equate each of these with decluttering, energetic clearing, and cleaning and purifying. I also do my best to integrate my kitties and my plants into my rituals and routines.

Physical Cleaning Rituals

This level of cleaning is perhaps my least favorite, but I start with it before I do the others. I get my cleanliness probably from my medical field parents and my leaning toward germophobic mother.;) I mostly use lemon and apple cider vinegar. For a while in graduate school, I even worked as a house cleaner, and…

--

--

Rebecca M. Farrar, M.A.

Enchanted with Earth & Ether | M.A. Philosophy, Cosmology, Consciousness | Archetypal Astrologer & Writer | www.wildwitchwest.com